California Street  by Kanna Aoki

California Street by Kanna Aoki

25th Anniversary Celebration!
June 7, 2015, 3pm
San Francisco Conservatory of Music

Mendelssohn: overture to
"a midsummer night's dream"*

*Guest Conducted by Jonathan Davis, founder of Symphony Parnassus

Prokofiev: Violin Concerto No. 2
Alina Kobialka violin

Brahms: Symphony No. 1

About our soloist...

628x471 (1).jpg

Within a year after commencing her violin studies, Alina Ming Kobialka was awarded 1st prize at age 6 in the Chinese Music Teachers Association of Northern California Competition. After her first guest solo appearance with orchestra at the age of 10, she went on to perform with many groups, including the Oakland Civic Orchestra, Symphony Parnassus, and the San Francisco Symphony Youth Orchestra.

In January 2011, Ms. Kobialka conducted and performed as the soloist the Winter Concerto, Concerto No. 4 in F minor, of Vivaldi’s Four Seasons with members of the San Francisco Symphony. Just a few months later, she won the San Francisco Symphony Youth Orchestra Concerto Competition and performed the Tchaikovsky Violin Concerto with the San Francisco Symphony Youth Orchestra. In December 2011, she soloed with the San Francisco Symphony at their 100th Anniversary Reunion Concert, and not long after was featured live on the national radio show From the Top. She recently made her Mondavi center debut, performing Waxman’s Carmen Fantasie with the UC Davis Symphony Orchestra.

She is presently concertmistress of the San Francisco Symphony Youth Orchestra and toured with them through Europe.

Ms. Kobialka’s past teachers include Roy Oakley, Li Lin, and Wei He. She now works with Robert Lipsett and Danielle Belen at the Colburn School. In her leisure time, she enjoys playing the piano, swimming, great books, comedy shows, and delicious food